Online PC games as a way to deliver essential information regarding educational subjects

Some people think that online computer games are useful for children, while others claim are bad. What are advantages and disadvantages of online computer games for children?

There are some people who believe that children should play online computer games as they gain a lot of benefits and less drawbacks, while some of them also hesitate to agree with the statement. Although some of the program in online pc games are meant for educational purpose with no erotic contents, the possibility of physiological effect, such as, addiction towards games and affection of game contents is still became the main drawback needed to be recognized by parents.

Internet based games that contain few of inappropriate images, video and sounds are quite popular among children. As the technology of media has growth rapidly, the era of delivering knowledge shifted from text books to internet based games, which are relatively easy to access as well as understand by children at home. According to Australian researchers, the games connected to internet have big roles in children's brain development while learning new beneficial contents. Those contents are composed by tremendous vocabularies and mathematical patterns which somehow showed a significant increase in sending neurotransmitter in child brain that lead to activation of memory skills. Furthermore, they found that almost 75% of children these days in Australia have achieved good marks in their studies, especially subjects related to numeric and problem-solving. As the whole types of games are not dominated by inappropriate and uneducated contents, playing games are as safe as reading books if they seek new knowledge.

However, most games, especially online game has strong affection towards children's behaviors and remote their awareness to play repeatedly. The reason is mainly as game maker who design the entire game create the system which cannot be done once, need to be finished several times to achieve rewards in the game, which often encourage children to be addicted. Besides, the hazardous scenes or violent language become another parental disfavor to allow playing online games. The researchers from University of Vancouver have questioned whether engaging in game for 24 hours for a week has similar impact physiologically than player who play for 3 hours for 2 a week. As a result, they found that most children are prone to eagerly redo the same game and memorized the harsh vocabularies, which are ensured by filling questionnaire of words that are said by the main character in the game. By this fact, it is strongly suggested that addiction towards game and become violently in speaking language are real.

In summary, online games can be better choice to deliver essential information regarding education subjects, while psychological affection towards game and desire to play it repeatedly are undeniable drawbacks of playing them. it would be better if parents can limit the time exposure of their children to play games to earn the beneficial information as well as psychological effects.