IELTS task 2: Will online newspapers / books replace printed ones?

Hi everyone,

Please help me review my essay and give score corresponding to IELTS band if you can.

Thank you very much in advance.

Question:

In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Answer:

People argue that the advantages of digital books or newspapers will lead to the disappearance of the traditional ones. I strongly agree with this opinion.

The primary reason why nobody will purchase the printed books and newspapers is due to their negative effects on environment. Conventional books and newspapers are made from wood, and hence a plethora of trees has to be cut to provide materials for paper manufacturing process. This could exacerbate the deforestation which is a headache issue of all countries around the globe. To address this critical problem, many goverments have imposed higher taxes on wood-made products, and books or newspapers are one of the bypass products of woods. As a result, the price of books and newspapers shoots up and forces people think about another economic way to replace printed books and newspapers.

On the other hands, there is a variety of advantages of electronic books and newspapers. Firstly, they do not need to be printed out on the papers so that they are very friendly to environment, and the manufacturing and printing of books and newspapers are significantly reduced. Therefore, their price is much cheaper than the printed books and newspapers, and people can afford to buy them. Secondly, people can easily update news or information anytime and anywhere as long as they have a smartphone connecting to wifi. This is an extraordinary benefit for busy people who has a limit of time per day. Finaly, the high quality and vivid image helps the digital books and newspapers outweigh the conventional ones.

In my conclusion, the purchase of printed newspapers or books will be decreasingly dropped and people will prefer to buy digital ones due to their obvious advantages.