There is an opinion that social networking sites have an adverse effect on people and the community

social networking sites and their negative impact

In recent years, social media has become an indispensable part of our life but there is an opinion that social networking sites have an adverse effect on people and the community. In this essay, I strongly agree with this notion due to the following rationales.

To start with, we slowly become slaves for the internet. Individuals have spent hours on it because these sites are so tempting, wasting our precious time. Even on streets, people hold their phone everywhere they go. This is dangerous when they are not concentrating on the road and could cause accidents. Also, most teenagers nowadays spend excessive amounts of time on web surfing, chatting or playing video games with strangers, becoming isolated with the family and turning into depression. Therefore, it is evident that social-media addiction has serious implications for people.

Furthermore, the community can be harmed. With the rise of social media, the rate of crime also increases, they invade social networking sites and their target are the teenagers who played or chatted with them through games, web. Moreover, hackers can infiltrate the profiles of celebrities and blackmail them or even trick kids to kidnap them and extort their families.

To conclude, social networking sites are still developing with huge influence on society. I believe we should use social media properly and be more careful while using such websites.