IELTS Task 2 : CAN OUTFIT APPEARANCE SHOWS SOMEONE'S CHARACTER?

Some people say that the clothes people wear are the most important indication of what they are like. Others, however, say that people should not be judged by the clothes they wear.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is true that clothes become an inevitable accessory in human beings' lives. Nowadays, a great number of people assume that these garments can delineate who an individual is, while others believe that there are no justifications for this. This essay will discuss both points of view.

For decades, apparel has become a primary need for every single person which protects them from the detrimental effect of various weather conditions. Interestingly, the style of dresses is constantly changing in each age and most of the people have a tendency following the new fashion trends in order to still look up to date. Moreover, lots of outstanding people wear the certain style and the current dress to impress their fans and express themselves. As a result, fashion occasionally becomes a benchmark in society to describe someone's personality.

Nevertheless, some people believe that it is quite hard to value someone character based on their outward appearance since the different person has a different dress style. Generally, the garment which individuals used depends on their occupation. For instance, a business woman dresses clothes neat suit up in order to seem polite when meeting with colleagues, while a farmer always wears a simple suit like t-shirt because this type of fabric is easier to absorb sweat. Therefore, the cloth is totally worn for such purposes and we cannot judge people's character by the clothes they wear.

In conclusion, I would argue that garment basically cannot be an indicator to value somebody's personality, due to the reason that the cloth is just outfit appearance that can be manipulated anytime, while someone's character could not be changed. Finally, while there are some who may wish to judge people by what they wear, the reality is that nobody can distinguish the character of a person simply by the clothes they wear.