IELTS Task 2: Which One is More Essential, Appearance or Quality of Work?

Some organizations believe that their employees should dress smartly. Others value quality of work above appearance. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some people argue that to be a well-dressed worker in a company is more essential than job performances, but the others assume the reverse. While I agree both views, it primarily relies on the workplace and the profession.

Nowadays, job descriptions and particular professions need special dress code in everyday activities. For instance, as Public Relations who meet several clients have to wear appropriate clothes. While the organizations represented by them, they must represent good images in front of public, so they will seen more attractive. Moreover, they have special budget to buy fascinating formal dress and cosmetics. Likewise, another example is that persons wear uniform if their professions are policemen, civil servants, doctors, and soldiers. I believe these appearances make people aware about what their responsibility.

On the other side, I state that quality of work is more important than what individuals dress. In short, they use their skills and abilities to work. For example, artists who create some creativity products do not need to maximize their looks. Even, sometimes they do not care what clothes are worn, such as painters, fashion designers, photographers, and theater players. They are usually highly appreciated because they are really all out to make perfect performance regardless appearance.

In particular chance, employees are also mandated by their companies to wear smart clothes, sometimes free costumes. Companies should let their workers to express fashion styles with special requirements. In other words, their dress can be applied if only they experience their duty well.

To sum up, appearance and performance are equally essential to involve in our job. People have to adjust quickly in their surroundings, so they can prepare and know what they should dress. I do reckon that between quality and looks have to be balanced to support and to become professional workers.