IELTS; Paid work for children is good or bad? Discuss

Please check and give a band score. Thanks !

In many countries children are engaged in some kind of paid work. Some people regard this as completely wrong, while others consider it as valuable work experience, important for learning and taking responsibility.

What are your opinion on this ?

Whether or not children should do some type of paid work is still controversial. On the one hand, some people argue that it is not right. On the other hand, many educational experts believe that children could gain valuable work experience, learn many new things and take responsible for their life. Each of the argument has its own merit.

There quite plausible reasons for the former opinion. To begin with, children are easy to be exploited by employers because they do not have enough life experience so they may not know that they are being exploited. Thus, owners can pay them too low income while requesting them to work very hard. Furthermore, children should play around with their friends or be educated at schools before their mind become fully developed instead of working so they will have nice and memorable childhood. Also, children can be considered as low skilled workers, thus, we should let them focus on their study to gain more knowledge, becoming more productivity.

However, there are also strong reasons in favor of the latter opinion. Firstly, children are believed to be more mature if they contact with life early. They will gain more life experience which could be very useful for them in the future, for example, avoiding exploitation or fraud. In addition, as they work, they gain more and more skills or valuable work experience, then they are likely to be promoted and demanded because companies nowadays appreciate workers who have lots of experiences not qualifications. More importantly, children will have idea about the value of money or how hard to make money so they have to be responsible to what they spend money on.

All things considered, I think that children should not work until they are really mature. However, if they have desire to work to gain experience, we should let them do it under families' control or just in a certain time period.