Parental pressure: parents put too much pressure on their children

nowadays, parents put too much pressure on their children to succeed.

what is the reason for doing this? is this a negative or positive development?

Parents have undeniably a profound influence on children's development. However, in today's world, they are overwhelmed by parental pressure to become successful. The reasons for this problem are varied and the effects are strong.

To begin with, the parental over-expectation results from parents themselves. Since their desire to have successful children are highly demanding, parents tend to impose rules on the teenagers and expect them to follow these without exception. These authoritarian parents also put enormous pressure on their children to thrive in order to satisfy their demand. Additionally, the cause for parental demand can be attributed to the competition nowadays. As the top position in professions are few, it is substantially intense to compete with others to become leaders. As a result, children are often under parental pressure to have strength to pursue great achievements.

Although the aim for authoritarian parenting is for the sake of children's future, it seems to be counter-effective. Firstly, it can give rise to mental illness such as depression and aggression. Adolescents may rank lower in happiness, social competence and self-esteem when being stressed about parental over-estimation. Moreover, their creativity may be diminished. Because children have little to no involvement in problem-solving challenges, the lack of creativity and problem-solving skills is understandable. More importantly, parents' demand can result in the disobedience and defiance of the teenagers. When the situation is permanent, the relationship may be jeopardized.

In conclusion, forcing adolescents to become successful has numerous drawbacks. Thus, parents should respect children's hobbies to eradicate the problem.