In the past, buildings often reflected the culture of a society- IELTS

In the past, buildings often reflected the culture of a society but today all modern buildings look alike and cities throughout the world are becoming more and more similar.

What do you think is the reason for this, and is it a good thing or a bad thing?

There are instances in the past where buildings often reflect the culture of a society. However, in the modern world, these architectural structures look alike and is hard to distinguish cities from different part of the world. It is felt that trend is a good things. Looking at scarce resources and will be analysed for viability.

For one, it is a fact that in the globalised world, land has become more expensive and a valuable resource than previous decades. Take Sydney, for example. There has been a huge increase in the construction of tall buildings in nuke and corner of the city for the past few years. This uprise clearly shows that land is a valuable resource and should be utilised wisely. Therefore, it has become hard to recognise cities like Sydney, Berlin etc. where land is scarce and valuable resource.

Although, changes are inevitable and one cannot stand in the way of technological advancement in the modern world ,cities should keep some individuality and cultural heritage. For instance, in Paris , it is prohibited to construct tall in the heart of the city as this will spoil the skyline view. This rule clearly not only prevents constructing tall buildings in the city, but also encourage architectures to design unique structures .This points out that cities can take steps to reflect their cultural values by designing that is unique from buildings in other cities.

In brief, it is regrettable that cities are alike, one could take measures to design unique structures that help to maintain its cultural values. It is hoped that, more buildings will be designed in a unique way that it recognisable from buildings in other cities.