IELTS Writing task 2:People becoming interested in the history of the house or building they live in

In some countries, more people are becoming interested in finding out about the history of the house or building they live in.

What are the reasons for this? How can people research this question?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Recently, there has been a growing trend among residents in a few countries, who are eager to dig deeper into the historical background of their home. Some main reasons associated with this rising interest may be due to one's curiosity and desire to find out about the quality of their home or bad reputation if it had one. The ways that one can do research are varied.

On the one hand, there can be two reasons that motivate people to investigate the history of the place they live. First is to satisfy their own curiosity about past story of the place. Investigating paranormal events, finding haunted or valuable properties, or just checking whether some ancient architectural details still remain may be one of the reasons. Second, some people may wish to assess the quality of the construction in order to detect any types of possible vulnerability and prevent damages in advance. To be more precise, people examine the conditions of their home to know how resistant it is in case of a fire, typhoon, or earthquake, so that they plan for future upgrades or renovations. In addition, uncovering any history of possible criminal activities associated with the place could influence their decision to stay or invest further in the property.

On the other hand, there are three methods for individuals to gather information about the historical background of a building. The most reliable way is to submit a request for official records to the local government. Another interesting option is to set up interviews with the senior residents or neighbors in general. Lastly, people can do online research, where the sources are searchable and often provide a wide range of related information.

In conclusion, curiosity and the need to find out about structural quality may have arisen people's interest in investigating the historical background of their home. They can collect information by checking official documents, setting up interviews or looking it up on the internet.