Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matter

children should decide

Some people contend that if children only concentrated on their own decision-makings, they will neglect their surroundings. While others maintain that children should decide on what may influence them by themselves. To my knowledge, I support the latter perspective.

Theoretically, children tend to only focus on themselves rather than the needs of others when they were permitted to make their own choices. This seems preparing one of the essential factors to create a self-centered or unthinking environment because there will be hardly anyone fighting for the progression of the civilization or for the scientific breakthroughs of the humanity. For example, there will be no Martin Luther King devoting to the civil rights movement, or no Marie Curie discovering for the chemical radioactive elements. That's probably why most of Chinese schools aims teaching children to prioritize others needs before theirs. Thus, majority of the Chinese adolescents have a faint sense of self.

However, from the philosophical point of view, the above argument is rather critical. If ones blurred their identities and without knowing their own preference, they will be incompetent to serve the society. This is because the qualified individuals, at first, should know their strengths and weaknesses, and how to opt their own directions correctly, which can be fulfilled by the decision- making process; then they will be capable to influence other members in the society. To illustrate, Obama, the previous President of the United States, likes and chooses to read varied books since he was young. This hobby has assisted him to absorb a wide range of knowledge and become a well informed and an eloquent adult. When he was voted to be the President of America his powerful election speech affected millions of American citizens.

To sum up, choice is one of the decisive factors shaping people into who they are; and it is crucial that they, and only they choose their own likes which might affect them