IELTS Writing Task 2 - Some people believe that the best way to solve environmental problems

Some people believe that the best way to solve environmental problems is to increase the price of fuel. Do you agree or disagree?

Some argue that raising the price of fuel is the most effective way to tackle environmental issues. While many believe that it could eventually reduce carbon footprint and alleviate climate change, I disagree with their perspective.

Firstly, a hike in price makes limited impact on the consumption of fuel. Firms and individuals combust fuel to meet their necessities. For example, factories need to use gas and oil in their machinery to manufacture products like vehicles. This is particularly true in many developing countries with a large population and steady and robust market demand. Moreover, businesses pass the cost to consumers through higher pricing. Another example is workers living in remote areas commute to their workplaces by driving daily. In some regions where public transport infrastructure is underdeveloped, driving is the only option when affordable housing is available in suburbs. A price increase would do little in lowering fuel consumption.

Secondly, certain environmental problems are unrelated to the burning of fuel. Take the conservation of wildlife for example, which requires efforts in the education of the importance of protecting endangered species. In some Southeast Asian countries, people kill animals and eat game meat for cultural and religious reasons. In addition, government regulations and scrutiny are pivotal in combating illegal waste dumping. Some construction companies discard unprocessed waste for convenience and cost-saving considerations. Heightening fuel prices would not be a well-rounded solution to resolve environment issues.

In conclusion, the effect of a price increase in fuel on curbing environmental concerns is negligible. We should explore alternative means to improve our environment.

Holt  Educational Consultant - / 15930

1 day ago   #2

The discussion is only 259 words. That number does not maximize the full scoring potential of the essay. The aim for the word count that can produce the best possible score is 275 words. There is room to extend the discussion points in terms of clarity. For example, in the prompt restatement + writer's opinion, you delivered a solid paraphrase and correct point of view response. What could have increased the score were the expected 2 supporting reasons for your opinion. That would have boosted the TA score of the essay immensely. By stating the discussion points early on, you can gain more points by using topic anchor statements at the start of each paragraph instead of numerical ordinals which show that you know how to follow that grammar rule, but it does not really advance the discussion paragraph for the reader.

The summary overview is partly incorrect. It lacks the appropriate reverse paraphrase of the given discussion in addition to your reasoning topics. This was a good attempt though. It might get a low but passing score in an actual setting.