Task 2: Increase the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles to solve environmental problems.

Topic: People think that the government should increase the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles to solve environmental problems. Give your opinion.

taxes on petrol?

Essay:

The environment has been one of the major concerns of the world in recent years, especially in 2019 when micro dust was at an alarming rate. One of the reasons for this matter is because of emissions from vehicles. Therefore, some people have proposed that national authorities should raise taxes on petrol. While this seems to be an effective solution, I would argue that there are superior ones to cope with environmental issues.

It is reasonable why rising fuel's price is advocated by some people as this would lead to a reduction in the number of journeys made by cars and other private transports. As a result, there will be a shift to using more public vehicles such as buses or electric trams and this will, in turn, help reduce the greenhouse effect. However, this measure would only be beneficial in the short term since the extra expense does not account for much in total.

Hence, I strongly believe that the better option is to raise tariffs on private modes of transport, instead. Korea perfectly exemplifies this situation. In Korean, the local authorities put a high tariff barrier on cars which eventually led to a plunge in the number of car users and also a considerable increase in the number of journeys made by buses and underground trains. Moreover, the government should also upgrade public transport infrastructure to facilitate the transportation around the city even more so that more and more people will choose it over riding private transports. Both aforementioned measures will result in a cut down on exhaust fumes from personal cars and help in the effort to combat global warming.

In brief, a surge in the cost of petrol would be a useful environmental-friendly solution, although, in the long term, I have the belief that imposing high taxes on cars and improving public facilities would be optimal.