IELTS-More and more people want to buy famous brands of clothes, cars and other items.

It's my task 2 in the IELTS test, I got 5.5 finally. I wonder why my score is so low. Anybody help me to check it and give my some comments? very appreciated!

More and more people want to buy famous brands of clothes, cars and other items. What are the reasons? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In modern societies, it is true that many people are tending to buy some famous brands such as clothes and cars. Whenever you talk to them about this item, they are likely to tell you which brand is popular because they are so familiar with.

What are the reasons of this phenomenon? As far as I concern, there are two main reasons. Firstly, people are exposed to millions of advertisements, and each commodity is always showed with a slogan: we are famous brand. Most people, especially the youngster, are more likely to buy what they told to be famous and cool. Moreover, many people are likely to compare with their peers with famous commodities. They are tending to buy what is popular and show off by this way.

The phenomenon will definitely produce bad influence. If people buy everything on the advertisement, they will be more likely to buy the fake, instead of a good quality and what they really need. Moreover, if people always show off by famous brand of commodities, they will be depressed one day, because if they find that they fall behind with others, they will emerge a mental-imbalanced in mind, what finally do harm for their personality.

My view is that people should buy something based on what they need, and happiness of people should come from their families and friends, instead of showing of by famous brand.