IELTS Writing Task 2 - Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed

self employment

Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

Answer:

The structure of employment is being changed with the expansion of population. Indeed, rather than working for a company or organization, many people are going for self-employment. This essay will discuss about the reasons behind this, including reduced number of jobs and flexibility in working in own environment, and the disadvantages of the decision.

Self-employment gives an individual the maximum flexibility possible in professional life. A typical employee has to take permission from his boss to take a leave, while a self-employed person can take it anytime because he is the boss of his workplace. This opportunity enables a self-employed person lead his life flexibly, resulting in increased efficiency and peace of mind for him. Meanwhile, he does not have to take stress about job availability, although it has become an alarming issue. Since a self-employed person can start working alone for himself, reduction of job circular will not make him worried.

However, working alone comes with two major disadvantages. First of all, it has some potential risk of losing investment. While working for a company, a employee gets his salary on a regular basis and he doesn't have to invest anything for that, except time. Any loss of the company will be taken care by the share holders. But in case of self-employment, one has to invest some money to grow his business. While it brings an opportunity to get revenue, it also brings some risk. He has to bear the loss if anything goes wrong. Moreover, too much self-employemnt brings greater competition in the market. When there are too many people in the market providing similar services, it becomes difficult for the providers to keep a hold of customers.

To conclude, people are choosing self-employment nowadays because it reduces stress about the job market and brings flexibilty in life. It also comes with potential risk and competition in the market which one has to be careful of.