Some people choose to stay unoccupied instead of taking up a job which does not fit to their hobby

01/11/2014

It's better for people to be unemployed than people to be employed but they don't enjoy. Do you agree or disagree?

great job or no job at all?

Nowadays, many people choose to stay unoccupied instead of taking up a position which is not corresponding to their hobbies. However, I completely disagree with this idea for some reasons will be discussed as below.

The option to be out of work is disadvantageous to some extent. Firstly, work plays an integral part in guaranteeing the quality of life. If people are unemployed they will not have regular income so that means no money to pay for the bills. Secondly, unemployment in long term can have a negative impact on health. People trying to find a particular job but not successful can experience the feelings of worthlessness and disappointment. This in turn can cause serious mental illness such as depression or anxiety.

At the same time, there are some benefits to be gained by people sticking to a job they don't like. The first reason for it could be not so many people can know exactly about their dream job at the beginning. Therefore doing various tasks in different organizations definitely gives them a chance to find out their true calling. For example, my brother had a vague idea about his future career when he first left university. But after spending two years working in different sectors, he finally landed a job which was right up his alley. Furthermore, being employed also allows people especially youngsters to master vital soft skills and expand their social network as well.

In conclusion, I believe that being on the job is better than doing nothing.