[IELTS TASK 2] Some people claim that not enough of the waste from home is recycled...

Topic: Some people claim that not enough of the waste from home is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

Whether governments should legislate for recycling is an issue of broad interest. While there are still disparate arguments, I personally concur with the need for regulation due to some reasons.

First and foremost, the detrimental impacts rising from free-of-law recycling are undeniable. Without restriction of laws, violation continues escalating, thus sparking serious repercussions. As unrecycled waste will be mainly brought to landfill, pollution will expand at an alarming rate, posing great environmental threats to different agencies working on the environment such as waste processing companies, tourism, economy, etc. Handling these problems would cause significant loss to the national budget, since governments have to allocate financial assistance to various related departments.

Furthermore, legislating for recycling ensures wider compliance in the community. Stringent penalties accompanied with laws such as forfeit, arrestment, imprisonment, etc. would stimulate people's rigorous adherence to the regulations as well as urge companies to address environmental problems. For example, a dairy company in Vietnam called Vinamilk has introduced bio-degradable bags and hydro flask metal bottles to consumers for recycling purposes. Their inventions under the influence of social media have resulted in great amount of consumption and support from customers, especially the adolescents, therefore not only contributing to the economy but also disseminating environmental messages. These productive approaches together with strong consciousness of people would enable further sustainable development targets in our community.

In brief, bringing in recycling laws is necessary to raise people's awareness and conformity. Governments had better come up with appropriate legislation in order to gain as much benefits as possible. (254)