IELTS TASK 2: People gaining more weight_problem and solutions

In some countries the average weight of people is increasing and their levels of health and fitness are decreasing.

What do you think are the causes of these problems and what measures could be taken to solve them?

Nowadays it is undeniable that the average weight of people is increasing, leading to the decrease in their health and fitness. To my way of thinking, there are two main causes of the problem, according to which I will put forward some solutions.

First of all, the matter is triggered as a result of people's not having a balanced diet. The advent of fast food chains like KFC or McDonald's on a global scale has made it perfectly convenient for a wide range of consumers from young children, teenagers to businessmen to have a good meal while still save a lot of time. Consequently, people tend to prefer fast food to home-cooked meals, though the former contains more unhealthy substances and is less nutritious than the latter. Therefore, there should be new rules to limit the amount of fat and unhealthy substances in fast food. Also, consumers should be more selective in their diets and more protective of their health.

The second cause of the problem, I believe, is the lack of physical activities. These days there are many adults who are too busy that they sit in the office working all day, with barely any exercise, or teenagers who spend hours in front of the computer playing video games or doing their homework, all of which give rise to a sedentary lifestyle and probably bring about certain health problems. Thus, it is important that each of us be aware of diseases caused by the lack of exercise such as heart disease or obesity and avoid them by doing physical activities as much as possible, joining sports clubs and outdoor activities.

All in all, the increase in people's average weight and decrease in health and fitness levels are of many people's concern. However, the extent of the problem could be reduced, as long as people pay attention to their bodies and make proper adjustments to their diets and do enough physical activities.