People with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments

Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor.

Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

These days, a wide range of people tend to cope with problems relating to health by simply using medicines and curing methods without the instructions of doctors. However, I believe the positive aspects of this trend are eclipsed by more immediate threats

On the one hand, there is numerous useful information in terms of various kinds of illnesses. Therefore, people can easily search and get to know about their health issues. It is extremely convenient, so individuals do not need to book appointments with doctors to learn about their little sicknesses. Moreover, some people may find it quite economical, to just buy medicines or receive appropriate treatments.

On the other hand, it is very risky to consume medicines that are not suitable for a person's health, which leads to a result that the immune system of the person can be decreased and vulnerable. In addition, medical information on the internet is not always accurate, then people can misunderstand their health problems, and will not get cured in the correct ways, as a result, their sickness may not only get worse but also more complicated to cure. When visiting doctors, patients will be consulted by professionals about their health situations, and they will be arranged on the right path to deal with their illness.

In conclusion, it may be acceptable to cure small diseases by one's self. Nevertheless, I fiercely recommend people should get medical advice from professional doctors.