People live longer lives now. Discuss the causes of this phenomenon.

The lifestyles of modern people are different from the lifestyles of people from the past. Everything is different starting with the food and ending with professions. And certainly one's lifestyle affects his lifespan a lot.

People are living longer now, because unlike ancient people we have comfortable heated homes, we eat fresh food, for we have refrigerators and one of the most important factors is that we have qualified medicine.

In medieval ages millions of people died from the deceases from which nobody dies now. For example nobody dies because of flu nowadays and we even don't go to the doctor when we have it. In fact, we just take a number of medicines and in a few days we are cured. But back in the 14th - 18th centuries people didn't have medicines, that we can buy in every pharmacy now and they died if they caught a flu.

Other important feature of the medicine we have today, which provides us a longer life is vaccination. When we are born we are always made some vaccines, because of which we can't have several deceases, such as smallpox or plague. But in middle ages the whole cities died out because these two deceases. For example, in 1348 there was a vast epidemic of plague which covered the whole Europe. As a result 30% of population of France, Spain and Italy died.

Basically, the causes of this phenomenon are easier than we imagine. And, in general, taking into consideration all the factors I have listed, it can't be called a phenomenon.

In conclusion, I would say that our length of life is largely influenced by our lifestyles. And however people are living longer now, there are some people with short lives, and that is also because of their bad lifestyles.