IELTS WRITING TASK 2: Do people prefer arts to technology in your view?

In the modern world, despite the rapid development of science and technology, there are still opinions that artists play a more important role in our society. While art is an essential way of expressing our culture and is very popular due to its entertaining nature, I believe the majority of people are still interested in science and technology because of the way they alter our world.

Art is well-received in our society for a couple of reasons. First, with the improvement of lifestyles, ordinary people often have more time and resources to enjoy art, whereas art was once a luxury only for the upper class. When all physical needs are fulfilled, people need to take care of their mental health, one of which is entertainment, and art can fulfill this naturally. For example, many people are willing to pay thousands of dollars just to attend the concert of their favorite singers, demonstrating the fulfillment of material needs in most of our society nowadays.

However, science and technology still hold a dominant position. This is because they play essential roles in our world development. For example, due to technological development, many of our tools, such as phones, electrical devices, and lighting, help people improve their lives. Therefore, science and technology are still preferred. For instance, in Vietnam, it is clear that technology-related jobs are becoming increasingly popular due to their applicability and their role in national development.

In conclusion, while art is indeed popular due to its ability to fulfill our mental needs, science and technology are indispensable in our world; therefore, they are prioritized more.