Some people have been prominent in music and sport since they were born

anyone can be exceptional

It is generally believed that some people are born with certain talents, for instance for music and sport, and others are not. However, it is sometimes claimed that any child can be taught to become a good sports person or musician.

Discuss both ideas by giving your opinion

It is commonly claimed that talents such as music and sport are natural gifts, whereas others believe that any individual can become superstar as long as being educated properly. In this essay, I will examine both points of view and express my opinion.

On one hand, it is believed that some people have been prominent in music and sport since they were born. If someone's talent is genetically inherited from his ancestors, he does not need to make further efforts to better his skills. A good illustration is Kasper Schmeichel, whose father is Peter Schmeichel, one of the greatest Danish goalkeepers. Kasper appeared to be gifted from his very early childhood; hence, his potential was quickly seen by Manchester City, starting a professional football career easily.

On the other hand, critics claim that anyone can be brilliant by education and hard work. Thomas Edison, an excellent American inventor, said that: "Genius is one percent inspiration and ninety-nine percent perspiration", which means an effort plays a major part in success. Taking me as an example, I was attributed to be incompetent at math on my grade 11. Only when I met my respectable teacher at the age of 18 was my thirst for math stimulated. By his fascinating and dedicating education, I made progress gradually and passed an entrance exam with mark 9.

In conclusion, both arguments have their own merits. Personally, however, I tend to gravitate towards the latter view that anyone can be exceptional under appropriate circumstances and good preparations.