Ielts task 2. "Some people regard video games as harmless fun ..." Profits and drawbacks of gaming

Topic:

Some people regard video games as harmless fun, or even as a useful educational tool.

Others, however, believe that video games are having an adverse effect on the people who play them.

In your opinion, do the drawbacks of video games outweigh the benefits?

Essay:

In recent times, the playing video games considered to bring harmless joy and a utile education tool. Meanwhile, many people assert that video games bring negative effects on players. This presents both pros and cons, however, in my opinion, its drawbacks are much more significant than the benefits.

Firstly, one reason why playing games is advantageous is that can help to reduce stress after the rest of hardworking or study time. For example, the players can enjoy the stories, music throughout the game, or even chat with their friends. This not only help gamers forgets the work pressure but also improve player's mood, promote relaxation and ward off anxiety. Furthermore, one further justification which should not be ignored here is that this activity could be used in education as a useful training method. This means that these games encourage imagination and creativity, as well as concentration, logical thinking, and problem solving, all of which are useful skills in real life.

However, I would argue that these drawbacks are outweighed by the benefits. It is important to remember that gamers are extremely competitive. In other words, the users usually want themselves to constantly get higher score, new targets, and frequent rewards to keep them playing. Many children now spend hours each day trying to win their friends or reach the best of high score table. As a result of getting lost for hours in a game, the gamers start to get not enough sleep, lack exercise, or lack time for real life relationships.

In conclusion, although video games exerts some adverse aspects, the disadvantages can justify these. In my point of view, playing games gain the potential dangers more than the possible benefits.