IELTS writing: Some people say History is one of the most important school subjects.

Some people say History is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today's world, subjects like Science and Technology are more important than History. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

History vs. Science and Technology

Many people that I know claim that Science and Technology are more vital than History. This issue is definitely a controversial one. I personally believe that History and Science and Technology are equally important. In this essay, I would like to outline both views.

We can learn the past from History and make the improvement for our future by Science and Technology. Archaeologists visit the unknown territories to excavate the ancient objects and analyze the topographies in order to know how the ancients lived. For example, Harappan Civilization flourished 5000 years ago with its great buildings and facilities. But a thousand years later their cities were abandoned due to the droughts. From this case, we have learned how the climate change affect people' live. And with the knowledge of Science and Technology, we find the way to perfect our drainage system and manage the water supply.

Another example, people use candles to light up the rooms at night in ancient times. However, candles are not safe as it may cause fires. Later, Edison has invented the lamp with his knowledge of Science and Technology. Also, we want to hold the memories for our past, so camera is invented. All these changes make our live safe and convenient.

In Conclusion, History and Science and Technology are both important. They should have the same proportion at the school subjects. So students can get ideas from History and make our lives better with Science and Technology.