Some people think they have done all they should do to society by paying taxes

responsibility to society

topic: Some people think they have done all they should do to society by paying taxes, but other people think people should take more responsibilities. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

my answer:

It is quite common these days for citizens to have a responsibility to take actions to contribute to a better society. With a conflicting view about how much responsibility they have to take, some citizens regard paying taxes as the whole duty they have to their country and community.

Advocates believe they have fulfilled their responsibility and duty through paying various tax, such as the VAT and income tax, since government could enhance economy to run smoothly as well as invest in social systems. For example, with tax revenue, the government is able to build more high-speed trains and improve the healthcare system. However, what government can do with tax revenue is just from the strategic level, while the dwellers can take more responsibilities in many other aspects.

An ideal society is not only determined by economy and high-quality lifestyle, education and reputation also need to be taken into consideration. Everyone in the society is a role model for children who are most likely to imitate other's behavior, thus to be an educational and motivational person is indeed an important responsibility for people to take in order to foster the young generation.

In addition, there are also occasions when citizens need to put their best foot forward to establish a good reputation for our community. It is hard to imagine what others would think of you, if you throw the garbage on the street only because there is not any trash cans in the vicinity.

In conclusion, my view is that although tax revenue can solve part of social issues, just paying taxes alone is not enough for citizens to fulfill their duties. It is better for them to do something effective in person that contribute to education and good reputation.