Some people think that genetically modified crops are a positive development.

Due to environment-related concerns, the method of using genetically modified crops has been widely used in agriculture. However, some worry that potential risks to both human health and the worldwide economy will become greater in the near future. In this essay, both views will be mentioned with examples to support my thought on this phenomenon.

There is a range of reasons that explain why the majority of citizens choose growing genetically modified crops over the conventional one. Firstly, according to some environmental issues such as air pollution, water pollution or soil erosion, which make it difficult for farmers to ensure that crops are grown in good conditions. This results in the downgrade in the nutrition of plants or fruits, making it hard for customers to have nutritious meals. Also, using genetically modified crops prevents the reduction in the productivity of growing plants. Otherwise, it may suffer negative effect on the economy as farmers are not able to provide enough food for their customers. For these reasons, the method of using genetically modified crops are more preferable by individuals than the traditional method.

On the other hand, genetically modified plants also pose some drawbacks to human health and the growth of economy, which make people being skeptical about its utilization. In terms of human health, it is all about the risk of suffering from allergy. In fact, people are more likely to experience allergy because of some allergen in genetically modified crops. They are not aware of what they are taking in, so it is difficult for them to identify and avoid products that consist of allergen in their daily meals. Not only that, growing genetically modified plants requires numerous devices and equipment to make sure that the crops are planted in the best condition. Despite this contributes significantly in the productivity of production, it will cost farmers a large amount of money to spend on regular insurance for these technical devices. This not only minimizes their incomes but also poses threat to the growth of global economy in agriculture.

From my point of view, the negative effects of this method are greater than its benefits. However, I believe that people should find way to minimize its adverse effects for the sake of humankind, making it possible for farmers to boost their productivity and grow crops in the best condition.

In conclusion, utilizing genetically modified crops not brings both positive and negative impacts on the life of humankind. In spite of its drawbacks, individuals should always head to the future. Therefore, action should be taken to maximize the productivity of plants, provide good conditions for planting and minimize adverse impact on human health and threat towards the worldwide economy.