Some people think that it is good for a country's culture to import foreign movies and TV programs.

Please give your comment on my essay. Every feedback is highly appreciated!

IELTS TASK 2 : Some people think that it is good for a country's culture to import foreign movies and TV programs. Other think that it is better to produce these locally. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

not only local, domestic TV

There is a school of thought that manufacturing local media programs is better than importing films and TV programs from other countries. However, I am of opinion that buying the foreign media programs should be encouraged to implement than producing the national films and TV programs.

On the one hand, there are some reasons to believe that the producing national films and programs is more beneficial than importing the foreign ones. A primary reason could be that local countries may save national budget. If the local film productors can manufacture the media programs, the governments might not pour finance into importing the copyright of the foreign films and TV programs. Another reason may be that through the national media programs, the government could maintain traditional values of the nation. When citizens watch local films and TV programs, they might tend to follow the national customs such as cooking traditional cuisines and participating in the national festivals. By these activities, the national culture of the nation could be enhanced.

On the other hand, I am convinced that buying the copyright of the films and TV programs from other countries could lead to more advantages than producing the local media. An explanation of this is that citizens may have chances to approach to the lifestyles and the customs of many countries. Through the foreign films and TV programs, citizens might acquire knowledge about various cultures. Consequently, when they go abroad, they can accelerate integration process with other countries. In addition, importing the foreign media programs could attract more audiences. In modern life, people have the inclination of enjoying the foreign programs on TV because through these, they can expand their horizons about the world.

In conclusion, there are some reasons which explain that manufacturing the local media programs is better than importing the foreign ones. In contrast, I am firmly of opinion that buying the films and TV programs from other countries could result in many advantages.