Some people think that secondary school students should study international news

It is assumed that international news should be studied as a subject in formal academics while others argue that this is a waste of quality time at school. While both points of view are justifiable to a certain degree, I gravitate towards the former standpoint, for the reasons given below.

Admittedly, it is understandable why some believe that secondary students should concentrate on other important disciplines instead of using their valuable time learning global information. One justification for their argument is that the education of universal news at school is redundant while the wide spread of this information enables students to multidimensional approach. Via technological devices and social media platforms, the young can easily access new knowledge worldwide rather than in the past when such information was solely gained through physical methods. In addition, the wide range of general information can lead to the lack of personalization among students. This is because secondary students are encouraged to pursue main subjects such as maths and literature, which cater for higher education and future personal growth. As a result, learning about a huge range of knowledge around the world can disrupt them to specialize in a certain discipline.

Despite above-mentioned arguments, I strongly believe that this addition can feasibly foster students' holistic developments and greater awareness regarding globalization. One reason for this belief is that despite the significant accessibility of international new sources, students may neglect such information due to the lack of guidance. To clarify, the young often use mass media for entertainment, limiting their approach to international knowledge. Therefore, the addition of subjects focusing on global knowledge can help to improve the wisdom of secondary students and ensure the update regarding important knowledge. For instance, the neglectation of new information and global changes such as climate change can cause alarming phenomena to both future generations and society.

In conclusion, for the reasons listed , I strongly believe that the addition of international knowledge learning can obviously contribute to an overall development among young generations though it seems evident that both views have their own unique advantages.