IELTS WRITING TASK 2 - SELF STUDY for secondary school students

"It is said that self-study is very important for secondary school students".

Do you agree or disagree with the statement? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In this day and age, whether independent studying is of paramount importance has been a hotly-debated issue. In my opinion, I advocate for applying this learning method. In this paper, detailed explanations and specific examples will be discussed to reinforce my belief.

First and foremost, self-study is a useful tool to maximize your time. To be more specific, learning with instructors and lecturers may increase students' dependence on others' guidance in lieu of improving their self-research skill. Research has shown that 80 percent of students enroll for crammed classes with tutors or advisors. Because of their overreliance, they have difficulties when studying without detailed instructions from teachers and have a tendency not to study when the teacher is not by their side. In the meanwhile, those who are capable of self-study can take advantage of their leisure time to widen their knowledge.

In the second place, it is undeniable that autonomies can collect experiences as a result of self-research. A survey at Oxford University has revealed that students who apply independent studying methods are more supportive, responsible and collaborative than those who do not opt for it. Furthermore, every pupil fits different forms of studying and traditional classes at school are not suitable for sundry students so that studying alone may be more flexible and efficient.

In conclusion, self-study offers numerous advantages such as: accumulating knowledge or gaining experiences and skills such as problem-solving and reasoning skills. Based on those aforementioned reasons, I firmly believe that independence in studying plays a crucial role in youngsters' knowledge retention.