IELTS WRITING TASK 2: Today more and more people are using mobile phones and computers

Today more and more people are using mobile phones and computers. Thus, people are losing the ability to communicate face to face. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

ANSWER

communication ability is decreasing

It is true that the chance to communicate face to face among people is lacking because of the over-reliance on electronic devices such as computers and cell phones. In my opinion, I completely agree with this idea.

There are a variety of reasons why the utilization these technological gadgets frequently in current time is attributable to the lose of face-to-face communication ability. Firstly, individual time which is used to complete daily works such as communicating is definitely limited. If the individual time is spent excessively for accessing the internet or playing applications on smartphones, there will be a shortage of real conversations. Secondly, because of anything about current life is also shared through the Internet and mobile phones, people will have nothing to exchange when meeting their friends and family members. Instead of that, each of them chooses to keep his/her eyes glued to their modern gadgets while sitting together.

Apart from the practical reasons expressed above, there are some different reasons which also relate to the reduction of the chance to communicate directly. One reason is that the availability of social networks such as Facebook, Skype with appealing emotional icons makes people feel it no longer necessary to talk in person but chat online instead. The more signing in the social networks, the less hanging out with friends and family. Furthermore, several people who overuse these electronic devices can face mental and physical health problems, especially headache and heart disease. As a result, they would not feel healthy enough to have a chart with their colleagues and finally they choose to stay at home.

In conclusion, I believe that the increase of using these labour-saving appliances in today's life results in reducing the ability of direct communication.