A person's worth should be judged by social status, material possessions or traditional values

A person's worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important.

evaluating people

Opinions differ as to whether measuring one's value by their social influence and personal properity or traditional morality. In my view, I truly believe that people should be judged by traditional values.

On the one hand, the gap between the two classes of society is widened leading to a misconception that the rich are regarded as more respected and admirable than the poor. Take celebrities, for example, they are the best symbols of power and influence in the world. Along with their fame, their personalities in some way become worse and worse. Many of them have lost themselves after a long time rolling in money, which means they totally become a slave of their own reputation and imaginary happiness. As a result, those people tend to be mean or badly-behaved which makes them betray their friends and families.

On the other hand, I still believe that traditional values such as honor, kindness and trust are the best way of judging one's worth. First, most people build their friendships and love relationships according to old-fashioned standards. In fact, a true friend you know from the bottom of your heart would be better than a rich and famous one when you need someone to confide in and share your sorrows. Second, more and more people having high qualifications and certain influence which makes recruiters find it difficult to choose the most suitable ones for their companies. So I think old-fashioned values will be the only factor to classify among the best employers.

In conclusion, although glamour and prosperity have somehow been predominant, there are also people who believe that traditional values still play an important role in life.