Petrol price Vs Traffic & Pollution; What other measures can be taken?

Prompt

Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

What other measures do you think might be effective?

Some people argue that rising traffic and its effects on the environment are likely to be dealt with by lifting the fuel prices. In my opinion, this approach might be unfeasible and authorities should increase the price of private vehicles instead.

More specifically, on the ground that the bill of fuel just accounts for an quite tiny weight of their whole cost of living, boosting prices of petroleum would not only have inconsiderable influence on behaviors of residents, but also produce negative effects on the economy such as inflation. In fact, office workers would rather pay a small amount of extra expense in order to go straight to their office than spend their valuable time queuing at subway or train stations.

Therefore, to dealt with the problem, I suggest that governments should limit the frequency of traffic by charging really high fees on those using private vehicles. With the knowledge that the more regularly cars and motorbikes are used, the much larger our cost would be, people surely have to consider more thoroughly before opting private or public vehicles. On the one hand, this would be helpful because there are not too many people who can afford it. On the other hand, government would have an additional source of funds to protect the environment.

In brief, raising the price of petroleum is not the best way to resolve the problem of traffic and pollution as people do not care that small increase. Introducing high fees might be a more efficient decision because few people can go that high and consequently have to switch to public transports.