Politicians or individuals? Essay about the environment protection responsibility

Whose role in protecting the environment?

Topic: Environmental protection is the responsibility of politicians not individuals as individuals can do to little. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe it is the politicians that have responsibilities to protect the environment not individuals' little effort. Personally, I disagree with this statement, and will outline my reasons in the following essay

On the one hand, it cannot be rejected that the politicians need to be responsible for addressing environment-related problems. To begin with, they can suggest the government enacting new laws and regulations that make sure people have the proper actions towards the environment. For instance, stricter laws that impose heavier financial punishment or long-term imprisonment can be implemented, which making citizens become more conscious of their actions. Apart from that, politicians can propose putting higher environmental tax on petrol, which makes petrol price increase. This discourages people from using their private vehicles as they will be reluctant to pay a huge amount of money for their daily travel. As a result, the more people restrict their traveling demand by private cars or motorbikes, the more CO2 emission into the atmosphere will decline

However, I strongly believe that there are numerous things that ordinary people can do to protect the environment, which still have equal impacts as those of the politicians. First, people are the main participants of any environment protection campaigns launched by the government. If all people get together and give a hand, the effect will become much larger, and the problems related to environment can therefore be tackled quickly. Second, people can contribute to improving the environment through their daily activities such as disposing garbage properly, or collecting trash in their neighborhood. These actions, despite being minor, still help reduce the humans' impact on nature and make it become cleaner.

All things considered, I strongly believe that all of the individuals regardless of their social status have an equal role in protecting the environment.