Positive consequences and drawbacks of working before going to University

Question:

Some suggest that young people should take a job for a few years between school and university. Discuss what the advantages and disadvantages might be for people who do this

Most people believe that work experience is the crucial factor for adolescent before continuing their higher education. I regard that it will convey positive consequences although there are several drawbacks could be occurred.

it has negative consequences such as lack of academic knowledge and negative psychological effect. Adolescent who have been working for such a long time in the company will lose their academic theories since they never review the materials. Although they get new insight regarding their job, they lose the knowledge which will be beneficial to study in university. Consequently, there is a big possibility that they will not be enthusiastic to continue study at university. Furthermore, they will have mental disorder since they must achieve the target and finish it based on the deadline. Although they can accomplish the tasks to be in order, they work under pressure and are stressful. It will be a harmful factor for their psychological development.

Apart from the previous explanations, It is not beneficial step for them due to several reasons. The first reason is to enlarge knowledge/skill. Although people who graduated from senior high school do not have capabilities needed by industries, they have strong motivation to sharpen their skill and gain knowledge that they have never heard. It aims to equip them with the special skill which will be the beneficial factor for their future. In addition, in order to pursue higher education, it needs a great deal of money. Although the government provides scholarship, its amount is extremally a limited amount. Therefore, young people should work to earn money and then save it to fund their tuition fee and living cost during a study.

In conclusion, while some argue that adolescent should not work before going to university. I believe that there is sufficient evidence to prove that its advantage outweighs its disadvantages.