IELTS WRITING TASK 2: POSITIVE DEVELOPMENT OF INTERNATIONAL TRAVEL

More and more people are traveling to other countries

Why? Do you think it's a positive or negative development?

There has been a significant tendency for people to travel to some other parts of the world. While a variety of factors may lead to this trend, in my opinion, this development would be beneficial for both travelers and the host countries which receive them.

Personally, three main factors are to blame for the growth of international travel nowadays. Firstly, growing prosperity and a rise in living standards in many countries have made travel abroad affordable for almost every member of society. The higher income and the more spare time workers have, the more frequent chance they would make to visit exotic destinations. Secondly, due to the considerable establishment of new tour operators, competition among them has reduced the cost of traveling. Finally, in some countries, governments have imposed more policies to attract foreign tourists, and therefore, holidaymakers have greater opportunities to travel.

In my view, there are undoubtedly advantages for both travelers and the host countries in terms of international travel. On the one hand, there is ever-greater competition among tour agency, so that holidaymakers can enjoy their experience of foreign country and culture to the full and have the minimum of travel expenses. On the other hand, the influx of foreign tourists brings money to the host countries through the provision of jobs and the growth of hospitalities such as restaurants and hotels. Employees in these sectors may benefit from higher wages and living standards, too. At the same time, host tourism could also receive investment opportunities from wealthy investors, and this means that there is an obvious positive development of local economies and businesses.

In conclusion, I believe that the development of international tourism has brought far more benefits to travelers and host countries.