TASK 2: Do the positive effects outweigh the negative effects, when advertising gains popularity?

the rapid expansion of advertising

In this day and age, more and more contemporary attention has been placed on the rapid expansion of advertising. While there are both undeniable benefits and drawbacks, the positive aspects seem to take precedence over the negative ones.

Unquestionably, the ubiquitous spread of endorsements has some disadvantages. With regard to individuals, they are likely to be swayed by the irresistible images and practical use of unnecessary items, leading to overbuying. For instance, being exposed to digital pieces advertisements, people are lured into impulsive shopping that they may not use afterward. In addition, no sooner might companies or businesses exaggerate or even distort the facts related to their products for commercial purposes than the customers can experience feelings of confusion about these items, making them have troubles selecting the products to their taste.

In contrast, it seems that the shortcomings of this phenomenon overshadowed by the benefits. Firstly, buyers can gain access to a more versatile selection of merchandise and services by dint of the large-scale expansion of adverts. In this way, customers' shopping experience would be far more pleasant on the grounds that they can compare prices as well as the quality of the items, thereby buying high-quality and affordable products. Secondly, delicate and well-designed advertisements can enable the messages involved in products and services to reach potential customers, followed by an increase in sales for businesses. Therefore, huge revenues generated through producing and selling activities might help to boost the global economy.

Conclusively, despite a few plus points of the popularity of advertisements, the good sides far outweigh the bad ones for numerous reasons. It is recommended that by carefully considering the merits and demerits, customers can make informed decisions to purchase items through adverts.