WRITING TASK 2: Positive of ONLINE NEWS

Many people no longer read newspapers or watch TV news programmes. Instead, they get news about the world from the Internet.

Is this a negative or positive development?

In the modern era, online news channels gradually supersede conventional channels ranging from newspapers or TV news programs and people tend to opt for this means to read national and international news. In my opinion, this trend is positive and has a significant benefit for the public for some reasons that I will elaborately explain in this essay.

News on the Internet helps to cut down on a considerable amount of resources such as human resources and papers... Unlike TV programs, online news does needn't hosts to monitor programs which allows manufacturers to allocate money for other activities. Moreover, the internet allows people to access information without taking newspapers. As a result, we can abstain the logging and deforestation to produce paper. For example, there are many channels on social media platforms such as Facebook, Tiktok or Instagram that you can access to read the news.

In addition, people can access information broadly, flexibly, and quickly when they read news on the Internet. The individuals are able to update information in both domestic and abroad news or find the previous posts whenever just one click. A pertinent example of this is that, in the past, when people want to know news during the day, they have to wait for news programs at 7 o'clock, which is inconvenient. Besides that, online news updates information more quickly than newspapers because they need time to compile, format and print. That is the reason why what you read in newspapers today is the news of yesterday.

In conclusion, the news on the Internet helps reduce resources dramatically and also allows people to access information conveniently, and quickly. However, it is essential for journalists to verify the accuracy of the information to provide the public with reliable news in the future.