IELTS 2 - Positives Versus Negatives of Computer Games for Children

It is argued that computer games bring negative impacts for children. In reverse, these games are valuable. In your opinion, what are the advantages and disadvantages of such games ?

The most interesting issue for children is about computer games. Some people believe that this entails bad effect for pupils, while some others have good perceptions in games. Indeed, children can take a benefit for increasing their problem solving skill, but they will have a negative side in their social lives.

Computer games train children to get quick problem solving skill since they have to accomplish some instructions on some stages or levels when they are playing games. They have several targets in games almost every second and, this results in exercising their brains regularly. The more they play, the more they increase their abilities. A study from the University of Rochester found that People who played action-based video and computer games made decisions 25% faster than others without sacrificing accuracy. I believe that this benefit will help schoolchildren in finishing plenty of assignments and examinations.

The opposite impact from previous discussion is that pupils lack of social life with their peers. They may have less time to play and interact with their schoolmates in their leisure times. This situation drives them to be lonely and isolated person. A study by researchers at the North Carolina State University points out that gamers usually do not replace their offline social lives with online game playing because they enjoy being a loner. It is generally argued that children with this type will find difficulties in working group activities.

All in all, the advantage of computer games is to train children developing their skill in problem solving. However, they have a tendency to be isolated by their groups. My suggestion for parents is that they have to supervise their children playing games in appropriate time in order to have free time to socialize with their friends.