WRITING IELTS TASK 2: POSIVITIVE OR NEGATIVE DEVELOPMENT OF TECHNOLOGY ON VIRTUAL CLASS AND OFFICE

Topic:

Around the world, many adults are working from home, and more children are beginning to study from home because technology has become cheaper and more accessible.

Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

The increasing booming of technology has benefited the convenience of working space of labourer, which results in the fact that there has been a massive shift from on-site working to working from home among adults and the rising popularity of virtual classes with children. In my opinion, I believe that the negative influences of this practice are more glaring.

On the one hand, there is no denying that human has reaped tremendous benefits from the techonological development. First, virtual working and studying is cost-efficient thanks to the rapid accessible to the internet. In fact, parents and their children could exclude the fees related to commute, meals from their daliy expenses. What's more, adults are likely to have more quality time for their family and close monitoring to their children learning because there is no such time constraints and office boundaries as brick-and-mortar working.

On the other hand, given the social skills and interpersonal interaction, this trend has more concerns than we expected. Teenagers only receive full development on mental and physical sides when they are allowed to engage in the social activities and face-to-face meeting with friends and teachers instead of sitting in front of the screen and making interaction through headphones and videos. Similarly, the lack of direct communication with colleagues may lead to the low efficiency of work and worsening of social relationship and collective spirit which are believed the vital factors for the employee's career ladder. Therefore, human beings can not hide behind the web-based classes and offices to optimize the qualities of their life.

In summary, although the rapid growth of Internet has pervaded the working and studying aspects with a tons of advantages, the threatening of its downsides is far more weighted.