IELTS task 2 - problems-solutions about ecotourism's effects on local cultures, people, environment.

Eco-tourism often involves visiting remote and fragile ecosystems, which raises concerns about the impact on local cultures and indigenous communities.

What problems can this cause?

How can these problems be resolved?

Green-tourism is treated with skepticism about its potential outcomes on native cultures and communities via trips to far-away and vulnerable ecosystems. From my perspective, this practice can lead to the disruption of local cultural heritages and inhabitants as well as the biological degradation; however, this can be mitigated by raising awareness about cultural preservation and implementing strict policies.

The interruption of green travelling on native culture and residents embodied via the cultural commodification. In fact, indigenous traditions and customs gradually undergo changes to cater for visitors' interest to maximize profits. Many ethnicities around the world, such as the Khmer in Cambodia, are constantly changing the long-lasting customs in their culture in order to flatter visitors' interest. Consequently, such lasting traditions are treated as commodities to maximize profits rather than invaluable heritages standing the test of time, culminating into the distortion and loss of cultural identity. Moreover, the influx of tourists might demand the erection of brand-new service buildings, which negatively influences biological systems. In other words, the construction of facilities requires a substantial amount of natural resources ,such as wood or land, posing a threat to the disappearance of natural habitats and extinction of animals. As a consequence, the rise of so-called ecotourism might wipe out bio-diversity and end sustainable development of species.

However, education about preservation of cultures and implementation of policies can address the afore-mentioned problems. The heightened consciousness about values of distinctive cultures encourages visitors to pay more respect to differences in traditions. Specifically, the recognition of cultural identities ends the views towards cultures as monetized goods and lays emphasis on long-standing core values. Therefore, this would pave way for not only the safeguarding of local traditions and inhabitants but also cultural integration across the world. Furthermore, strict policies act as deterrent to the vandalism of vulnerable ecosystems. This can include restriction on numbers of buildings in a specific area or heavy fines on behaviors of destructing the environment. For instance, Son-Doong Cave in Vietnam officially bans new buildings in order to protect native biological systems. Overall, this can ensures the survival of indigenous living species and plants in the long run.

In conclusion, although eco-tourism is responsible for its havoc on native culture and residents as well as the vandalism of eco-systems, these problems can be mitigated by the adoption of policies and education of cultural and environmental safeguard.