What are pros and cons of international travel?

More countries are now opening their doors to foreign visitors.

Disadvantages and avantages?

In modern life, the idea of taking an international tour is affordable to virtually everyone, which makes many countries open their border for foreign tourists. While there are some advantages of this trend, I believe that the drawbacks may outweigh these advantages.

On the one hand, there are some undeniable advantages of international tourism due to its economic feature. Obviously, tourists are stimulated to broaden their horizons/explore places in foreign countries with an affordable budget. They can book a package holiday in advance and arrange their own tour, only with a reasonable budget for facilities including hotel, vehicles and entrance tickets. As a result, people with limited incomes have an opportunity to explore destinations which in the past only rich people can visit. Moreover, it is now available for visitors to pay for whole family trips to foreign countries, which is once a privilege of wealthy households.

On the other hand, the negative impacts may result in serious issues for many countries. First, international tourisms unfortunately raise an awareness of crime over the country. (A survey last year in India showed that 25% of foreign visitors felt unsafe due to robbing and harassment)/ Tourist hotspots are plagued by problems such as theft, harassment or drug abuse. The government should apparently impose a stringent rule to tackle this issue. Second, the green movements would convincingly argue that the entrance of tourists to the country can have an enormous influence on environmental degradation. It is necessary to fight climate change, but the air travel pollutes the atmosphere, let alone the constructions of facilities such as hotels and roads inevitably lead to the habitat destruction.

In conclusion, despite of the huge advantage mentioned above, I believe that the drawbacks of this trend exceed the positive impacts.