Public transportation service - the role in contributing to the development of a smart city. Ielts 2

Task2: Many people believe that an effective public transport system is a key component of a modern city. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of public transport.

pros and cons of public transport

Some people think that public transportation services play a role key in contributing to the development of a smart city. This essay will discuss both pros and cros of this view.

There are several advantages of effective public transport. To begin with, the traffic issue would be controlled if public transport, like bus or subway, runned effectively, representing a symbol of civilized and modern society. On a large scale, traveling easily enhances the economic growth as people would not waste time on traffic jam. For example, a businessman could save his time up to one and half hour to go to his workplace every morning on time by subway instead of being stuck in traffic jam in his private car. Moreover, the tourist industry in a city is also promoted when foreigner visitors no longer run the risk of being victimized by the fraud by passenger motorcycle. Last but not least, public transport help people save money since most of them costs much cheaper than taxi or private car.

Despite the advantages, public transportation has its various disadvantages. It is undeniable that public transport is unlikely to reach anywhere as they find it difficult to access the remote or isolated areas. Buses in Ha Noi city, for example, are unable to bring all passengers to anywhere they want, given that the Hanoi's infrastructure is so complicated. In addition, as the number of public transport is limited, they fall short of people's traveling needs. Finally, the quality of public transport services also needs to be improved because this would encourage citizens to use public transport instead of driving a car.

In conclusion, although there are some disadvantages of public transport existed, the demand of advancing and expanding public transport is inevitable for a modern city.