PUBLIC UNIVERSITY OR A PRIVATE ONE?

Hi, I am not sure if my previous message has reached you; therefore, I want to send my essay again. I will be glad if you helA PUBLIC UNIVERSITY OR A PRIVATE ONE?

The first university in the world was established in Bologna, Italy, by students who were eager to study law. In Turkey, the first university, Darulfunun, was founded in 1863 by the government. Today, in Turkey, there are many universities. The majority of these universities are public universities, while the number of private universities is on the increase. Private universities fascinate students with the opportunities they offer: various social activities, physical facilities, and renowned academic stuff. On the other hand, students in public universities lack many of basic amenities; therefore, they don't attract students. Nevertheless, public and private universities seem dissimilar on the surface, yet they are alike in two important points.

First obvious difference, between private and public univerties is the physical facilities they offer. The libraries, classrooms, cafeterias, sports centers of private universities are more modern than the ones in public universities. Because of the fees they acquire from the students, private universities have enough sources to provide such facilities which cover the needs of the students. On the other hand, students pay very low fees for the public universities; hence, the public universities don't have such facilities for the students. In addition, the government support for public universities is quite inadequate; they even don't have the source to buy new books or magazines for their libraries.

Another area of difference between public and private universities is the social facilities they provide. In private universities, social activities such as: students clubs, seminars, trips, workshops are organized with the support of the universities financial sources. In contrast, public universities have neither adequate social activities nor a regular social environment for students.

In spite of the dissimilarities about physical facilities and social activities of private and public universities, they share some important similarities: both have renowned and prestigious academic stuff and they are eager for academic researches. Although public universities' salaries for the academic stuff are lower than the ones in private universities, there are still very good professors in the public universities. As a result a student can acquire a good education not only in a private but also in a public university.

Moreover, both support academic researches. Many public universities spare an important part of their budget for academic research, instead of sparing the scarce financial sources for social activities. Similarly, the private universities have a budget for academic researches.

In conclusion, public and private universities are dissimilar in some aspects; however, they are alike in two significant issues, they both have adequate academic stuff, and they both support academic research. Although the mentioned differences between them may seem important for some people, the education system of the universities is the most important issue.