IELTS: By punishing murderers with the death penalty, society is also guilty of committing murder.

Question : By punishing murderers with the death penalty, society is also guilty of committing murder. Therefore, life in prison is a better punishment for murderers. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement.

Thousands of people around the world are murdered by another human beings and this number is soaring rather than declining. Many people believe that executing criminals or murderers is another act of crime that the community does in the name of law and justice. It is completely agreed that life imprisonment is the suitable and right punishment for those people who commits crime by taking people's life.

Death could be easy punishment for the crime people commit. Rather, they should be locked, so that they could feel how painful and tough it is to be inside four walls for their whole life time. For instance, one might not care about his own life and might murder other without any second thoughts. In this case, taking their life as a justice would make no difference or guilt for criminals. Due to this fact, they should be incarcerated and put into prison for rest of their life than killing them.

Furthermore, it is the right of every human beings to live whether they are guilt of murdering or not and should be given second chance to change themselves. It would be another apparent violence of human rights to execute people. There are plenty of examples who have served many years in jail and changed themselves in positive way. For example, one might have killed another person unconsciously or due to any mental disorder or conditions. It would be shame or stupidity of state's law to announce death penalty to such convicted felons. Thus, it is obvious that life in prison is better and humanly.

In conclusion, taking murderer's life as the form of punishment is not an answer and against humanity. Even convicted felons have right to survive and should be given chance to step towards positivity. Therefore, I totally support for life imprisonment than execution.