The question whether rising price of fuel is the best solution to environmental issue

TASK 2: SOME PEOPLE BELIEVE ONE OF THE BEST WAYS TO SOLVE ENVIRONMENTAL PROBLEMS IS INCREASING THE COST OF FUEL FOR CARS AND OTHER VEHICLES.

To what extend do you agree?

In the modern century, there have been growing concerns from the citizens about environment. This has led to the question whether rising price of fuel is the best solution to environmental issue. This essay will analyze and give the reason why I partly disagree with that point of view.

From one side, one argument put forward in favour of increasing the cost of fuel for vehicles. That is to say, when the price of fuel, namely petroleum, rise significantly, population will tend to cut down the frequency of using cars and other vehicles for saving money. Moreover, this phenomenon will create favorable conditions to promote citizens to use various vehicles which are close to nature including bicycles. By this way, the environment will be decreased the amount of air pollution.

From my point of view, there are a number of arguments in favour of opinion that rising the fuel price to tackle environmental problems will bring more disadvantages. First, this will affect to economy of country. In fact, the price of goods and services will be increased, which can lead to the decrease in the quality of population, especially poor people. In addition, a large number of industries depend on fuel therefor rising cost of this will bring more negatives for society. For instance, tourism and transport industries can be damaged or be force to grow service prices.

In conclusion, although there are arguments of both sides, it is my genuine belief that increasing the cost of fuel is not a good idea for environmental protection