IELTS: Reading news in the internet or newspapers ?

With the rise in popularity of the internet, newspapers will soon become a thing of the past. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, reading news or information online is becoming more and more popular in our society. Meanwhile people tend to use the Internet everyday instead of reading in papers. Some people believe that reading in papers will be an old fashioned in the next decade. In my view, I only partly agree with this statement and I will show my opinion below.

To start with, a growing number of people believe that reading news on the Internet is quite effective. This is because they say it is easier than reading newspapers. People tend to use the Internet rather than newspapers. For example, if you want to search for some information, you will use your phone and click on some websites instead of reading papers. In addition, many people think that using the Internet is much more convenient. Moreover, they believe that reading something in papers is quite a waste of time, because they need to get it first then open it and read it. Therefore, today most people are more likely to read news online.

On the other hand, many people hold the view that reading newspapers are not only an old trend but also a wonderful trend. This is because they say it has been part of our society since the beginning of civilization. Moreover, spending too much time online is harmful to the human bodies. For instance, if you look at a screen for a long period of time, you could have eyes strain. Furthermore, avid readers are more likely to read newspapers, they want to touch it and have more objective.

To sum up, an increasing number of people are using the Internet quite often today, due to the advance functions. In my view, there are also some unforgettable points of reading newspapers. Human being always needed to share news, and papers are the way they have done it.