Essay about the reason for learning foreign language - for travel, work, what else?

Write about the following topic:

Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

why people learn foreign languages

Some people claim that the reason for learning a foreign language is only to travel or work. However, others believe that these are not the only reasons why people learn a foreign language. I agree with this statement. I agree with the latter statement.

It is true that many people learn a language for travel and work purpose. In current society, it is important that worker should have second language ability. If people do not have this ability, they may be hard to find a job and will become jobless. Learn to travel is also a popular reason, tourists may have better experience if they can speak local language. They can make friend with local people easier compare to people who cannot speak local language.

However, there are still a lot of reason why people learn foreign language. Learn for entertainment is one reason, some people learn foreign language because they want to watch foreign movie. For example, one of my friend really love Japanese movies, she learn Japanese because she want to watch the latest movie and do not want to wait for subtitle translation. Secondly, learn foreign language is good to understand one country's culture. Since translate may differ the original meaning , or is hard to explain by using other language.

In conclusion, there is no doubt that some people learn foreign language for travel and work purpose. However, as other reasons I have mentioned, different people have different reasons for learning new language. To travel and to work in a foreign is not the only reason.