WHAT IS THE REASON FOR PARENTS PUTTING TOO MUCH PRESSURE ON THEIR CHILDREN TO SUCCEED.

Parental Expectations and Aspirations for their Children

Nowadays parents put too much pressure on their children to succeed. What is the reason for doing this? Is this a negative or positive development?

High parental expectations on their children's performances are the burden that children suffer. Consequently, children's mental health and childhood would be damaged considerably.

The world is changing rapidly; as a result, all jobs require higher skills and knowledge; likewise, they are more challenging to adapt. Therefore, parents soon send their children to extra classes to master not only Maths but also gifted subjects such as piano, dancing ,... . However, it would be a waste of time because not every child born to be talented. Parents are likely to think they have responsibility for their children's career paths, so it is their duties to push children to learn everything now or else they can't achieve six figures jobs in the future.

Another reason comes from the media. Televisions and smartphones are great tools to spread successful stories of young people all over the world. Parents can easily realize the fact that succesful people have greater power and higher social status. They eventually hope their children could be succeed not only to secure future jobs but also be featured on the media and be respected by others.

As a consequence, children nowadays are under high pressure of their own parents and society. They are being compared to other better kids by their parents and even by themselves. That they always have to excel in every aspect causes them depression. Besides, children are losing their childhood into getting highest scores. Children's happiness and curiousity seem to be forgotten instead of being the priority.

To conclude, excessive parental aspiration is harmful to children's mental and physical growth. Parents must put themselves in theirs kids' shoes to fully understand how difficult it is to live up to the parents' expectations. Futhermore, it is essential to realize that children who suffer severe depression hardly become successful in life.