'relieve tension' - Going to a new school is exciting / frustratating

Topic: When students move to a new school, they sometimes face problems how can schools help these student with these problems

Changing place is always a challenging experience for every ages ranging from children to adults. When kids follow their parents moving to new city, they have to face a lot of problem in their new schools. They have to study with new friends. They might need to improve language skill if they join international school or study abroad. They may get lost on their very first classes. All of these problem can be alleviated by school orientation, joining clubs, additional language and prerequisite classes.

Students should be given basic information to be able to adapt to a new environment. This can be achieved with a school orientation where teachers present an idea of life in the new school. The new students will learn about school regulations, culture, building locations, classes and supportive clubs that the school offers them. This orientation would give basic information on how their life would be at schools. As a consequence, they will be able to study and live in the new environment happily.

For international students who study abroad for the first time, they need pre-language lessons before the semester begins. The school should evaluate the student's language skills before accepting them. By using this method, the school can provide suitable language classes for each student. Furthermore, schools should hold a culture week or activity in which new students will be exposed to the new culture of the country. For example, in the U.S., students should learn what people do on Thanksgiving Day or April Fool's Day and also learn the meaning of each significant holiday in the history of the U.S. such as Martin Luther King, Jr. day.

For some fields, students should have experience in a particular skill before starting the first semester. School can enhance student's comprehension of the lesson by operating a prerequisite lesson for particular classes. This practice enables students to reach their class objectives easier and new students will not be left behind.

Going to a new school is exciting and may also frustrate students at the same time. The school should step in and play a role in dealing with this issue before it takes a toll on the academic performance of new students. The school should offer to help students by holding an orientation, open house, pre-language and prerequisite courses, and activities. If the new school prepares students with necessary knowledge before the semester begins, the tension will be relieved. Finally, students will be able to adapt and have success in their new schools.