IELTS Task 2 writing. Who should be responsible for subjects taught in schools?

The subjects that children are taught in schools are decided by central authorities. Some people say that teachers, not politicians, should be responsible for this task. To what extent you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Education is the key element in development of a society. As in most countries, the educational system and material presented in schools are planned by government. Some argue that it has to be the responsibility of the teachers, those who are involved in teaching of those courses and subjects. I am against this belief, because authorities have a better view of what we need for a growing economy and can provide plans which fit better for our economy. Moreover, a universal plan made by government can help us to proceed into the higher education level.

Those who govern our society have a better knowledge of what is beneficial and what is not for a prosperous economy. For education like other sectors they must have plans made by experts and educational specialist. The curriculum made by those experts guaranty that students who finish their school have their jobs and keep up with economic growth. For example an industrial country education system is focused more on what is necessary for its industry development. While curriculum planned by teachers may be at interest of teachers and do not help the society to reach its goals for economic prosperity.

The education system in a country needs to be common in whole country. Despite the subjects and courses in higher education, which are more specific and diversified, material taught in primary and high schools are more general. These subjects need to be the same in schools around the country, hence it covers all information required for the higher education. Therefore, all students in country fallow a common program and learn the same material which helps them in better way to continue their education in university.

In conclusion, although the government is not formed with those who teach at school, they can plan our educational system by experts in a way that to be more productive for our economy and provide an integrated and uniform system of education for a higher level.