Can rich countries giving money to poor countries solve the poverty problem?

Topic: Rich countries often give money to poorer countries, but it does not solve poverty. Therefore, developed countries should give other types of help to poor countries rather than financial aid. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In an attempt to alleviate poverty, developed countries often provide money to help underdeveloped countries. However, some people argue that this aid cannot resolve the root of poverty and that rich countries should offer other forms of assistance packages than financial aid. In this essay, however, I will challenge this thinking.

First of all, while some people claim that providing money cannot change the state of poverty, this point of view overlooks two important points. The first one is how money is allocated reasonably. This greatly depends on the role of the government in identifying the priority areas that need money to improve the living standard. However, while implementing policies to support the poor, there are some downsides such as bureaucracy, corruption, and so on, leading to a lack of consistency in policy and inefficiency while utilizing the aid funds. The second aspect is about the continuity of financial assistance flow, which is mainly seen under short-term aid. This can partly explain why, in some poor countries, they do not have enough money to cover their citizens' basic needs. Thus, the success of the fight against hunger and poverty depends mainly on how the money is used and the long-term sources, not on the types of aid.

Moreover, poverty cannot disappear, even when rich governments replace money with other types of aid. Although exchange education, employment training, and infrastructure aid can be ideal solutions, they still need financial resources to launch if they want to maintain these activities in the long term. Furthermore, to boost the standard of living of people, the government still needs to spend money on social development as a whole. Therefore, it would be better to combine financial aid and other forms to help poor countries achieve comprehensive and self-sustainable development.

In conclusion, poverty is a long-term issue, and to solve it effectively, the money provision of rich countries is still a great source for poor countries to improve their living standards. However, financial aid and others will only work if the government has flexible and reasonable policies to utilize the funding sources best.

Holt  Educational Consultant - / 14,895 4795

2 days ago   #2

In this essay, however, I will challenge this thinking.

It is quite unfortunate that you did not understand the discussion requirements of this essay. You did such a good job with the prompt restatement that I had high hopes for the writer's opinion presentation. Then, you went into a totally different discussion response in that section, turning an otherwise passing paragraph into a failing one. Review the response criteria again, you were to answer in a measured response method. You were not being asked to challenge anything. You were being asked how far your agreement or disagreement of the presentation went. You failed to to that so your preliminary TA score is also a failing one. That almost ensures that the overall essay will receive a non passing score. Having read the overall essay, you never did meet the prompt requirement so you cannot expect to receive a passing score had this been an actual test. Your response is not related to the task.